Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Versa 2, Ionic, and Versa 3 Connectivity Issues?

ANSWERED

Hello,

I'm a long term Pebble developer and miss the platform dearly. After Fitbit purchased Pebble I had high hopes of developing within the Fitbit ecosystem. I purchased a Fitbit Ionic for $300 when it was initially released. I started developing on the Ionic and loved initially developing for the smartwatch, but quickly realized that there were tons of connectivity issues between sending data between the watch and the phone. Many others had the same issue that I was seeing. It made fetching data from online sources incredibly unreliable. This greatly limited what kind of apps I could develop. I gave up developing fitbit apps until my wife received her Versa 2. Again I tried to develop on the Versa 2 platform and it had the same issues. (I have like 3 apps ready to be published, but never could due to these issues)

I pulled my Ionic out of my draw the other day and it refuses to turn on. (Makes me sad that it failed when it's not even being used) No biggie - Fitbit and their awesome customer service sent me a coupon for a discount on a smartwatch. The only problem is it doesn't work for any of the smartwatches except for Versa 2. The same one I have had issues with developing on in the past. 😞 

So my question to the community is: Has the connectivity issues between the Versa 2 and Phone been fixed? Are there similar issues on the Versa 3 or were they fixed thanks to hardware upgrades?

BTW: I've had these connectivity issues with at least 3 different phone models and all these watches. 

I was using the Messaging and File Transfer APIs when communicating information between the phone and device. So my typical flow was Watch --> Send text base message to phone --> Phone parses message and fetches data from an API I made --> API returns JSON --> Phone sends watch the JSON file. 

Thank you!

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER