Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to understand daily calories

ANSWERED

I'm new to Fitbit and have a question about total daily calories.  I'm a 57 yr. old moderately active woman.  My goal weight is 120.  Other sites tell me that I should multiply my goal weight by 12-15 calories to figure out my ideal total daily calories, which would put me between 1,440 to 1,800 calories a day.  Why is my Fitbit daily calorie only 985?  (Yesterday it was even lower, somewhere in the high 800s!)   Is this based on calories in/calories out?  Logging in my meals today, I see that I'm already over my daily total, and it isn't even dinner yet (yikes!)  Btw, I logged over 15,800 steps on Tuesday, over 10k steps yesterday and I'm over 6k so far today and also went to the gym and did weights and elliptical today.  I've also lost about 2 lbs. which puts me just 8 lbs. away from my goal.  What exactly is this figure of 985 for total daily calories?

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Congrats on the weight loss. Given tracking a few more days and keep me posted. Happy to help anyway I can. 

Marci | Bellevue, WA

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
0 Votes
6 REPLIES 6

Hi @EarthLuxe, Welcome to the forums. Calories in and out can be confusing. You can set your calories goal for in and out, and then track your food to see how you are doing. The key to this is to remember you burn calories all day long and thus your calories out increased as the day goes by, thus there may be times during the day when you have taken in more calories than you have put out, but if you keep moving throughout the day, it will balance out. For example if you have a high calorie breakfast first thing in the morning, you will likely have more calories in than out, but that might be your plan, eat higher calories in the morning, lower calorie meals later in the day. 

Does that help?

Marci | Bellevue, WA
Best Answer
0 Votes