Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So I think I know where those excessively high burned calories are coming from

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

My Fitbit often shows insanely high calories (frequently around 5000 cals day) that's half marathon level of exercise which I am not even close to doing. I sit on my **ahem** all day during work, I enjoy playing video games at night and once in while I run for 30 min or lift a little weight.

It is somewhat of a known issue and I think I know now where the problem is coming from.

I am by no means an expert but here is what I figured out after a few hours on the internet. Total caloric daily expenditure is made off BMR + NEAT (Non Exercise Active Thermogenesis) + Exercise + thermic effect of food. Food based energy is measured in calories (kcal) a scientific unit measured by literally burning the food and measuring the energy that is released.

When your body uses energy it does so through the Krebs - Cycle, basically the same process like burning (oxidation) just way slowed so we don't burst into flames.
So far so good
We measure caloric expenditure by measuring CO2 atoms exhaled during exercise.
Here is the crux.
This is the total caloric expenditure: BMR + NEAT (Non Exercise Active Thermogenesis) + Exercise + thermic effect of food measured.
So when I run to the fridge because of munchies or take a particular strenuous **ahem** I burn an additional 5, 10, whatever calories but Fitbit adds those + the BMR because that's included in formulas in the scientific literature + the base BMR that's always there.
Long story short: Essentially whenever just doing the mildest exercise Fitbit counts BMR double this adds up over the course of the day and how we get those wrong numbers.

I might be wrong but it just makes sense (I crunched the numbers on a couple days and it seemed to check out)

Best Answer
0 Votes
2 REPLIES 2

My take on it: