Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stationary bike tracking

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Does the Flex 2 track steps on a stationary bike? I have painful plantar facitis and have been using a stationary bike instead of a treadmill to relieve stress on my foot. The zip only picks up steps if I attach it to my shoe. Since the Flex 2 is an activity tracker will  I be able to wear the wrist band and have the activity counted?

Best Answer
51 REPLIES 51

I'm no expert on this, but my guess is that it probably would not track activity on the bike, because the accelerarometer tracks arm movement and unless on one of those bikes that has moving handlebars, I can't see it happening.  

I'm perfectly willing to admit that I could be wrong, thoughSmiley Wink

Best Answer
0 Votes

It's nice to see you around the Community @sjhop, hope you're doing great! Smiley Very Happy I agree with @PDADoc, Flex 2 only automatically tracks outdoor bike, because it needs to detect forward motion.  

The best thing to do for stationery bike is to log it manually.  In order to do so, do the following:

Fitbit.com Dashboard

1. Log into your fitbit.com dashboard.
  2. At the top of the page click Log > Activities.
  3. Click a common activity or search for one. If the activity is not in our system, create your own by clicking the Create custom activity text that appears below the search field.
  4. Enter the duration, distance (if applicable), and start time of your activity. You can enter the number of calories burned if you'd like to.
  5. Click Log. Your activity will now be visible and editable in the Activity History area.

Fitbit App for iOS

1. On the Fitbit app dashboard tap the Exercise tile to open your exercise history. This is the tile that says "Track exercise" if you haven't worked out today.
  2. Tap the stopwatch icon in the top right corner.
  3. Tap Log.