Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bike riding compared to walking

I've been walking for about 6 months now.  I walk almost every day.  I usually rest 2 or 3 days a month...  Usually when I have to drive to go out of town...

Like so many of us, walking is becomng a demishing returns problem for me.  I used walk 30 minutes and burn 1200 calories...  Now I have to walk 2 hours to burn 1200 calories...

Granted I've dropped almost 50 lbs...  I've noticed my breathing is barely above my normal breathing...  About the only way I can tell I've exercised at all, is if I sweat a bunch.  I rarely can get my heart rate over 110 any more.  I just went hiking on a hiking trail Sunday.  I got a pretty good work out for only 3.5 miles.  I still only got my heart rate to 120. 

So my body has gotten pretty good at walking.  On my stationary bike I can ride it for 30 minutes before I started to getting tired.  Heart rate 160+.  But I hate riding my stationary bike.  I like being outside!

So I'm getting my old bike road ready.  It's going into the bike shop for a lot of overdue maintenance...

I haven't ridden a bike in over 30 years.  So this should be fun! 

My question is how far should I start riding for?   I can walk 6 miles in under 2 hours.  I can ride my stationary bike for 30 minutes...  How far and for how long do you guys think I should be able to ride?

John | Texas,USA | Surge | Aria | Blaze | Windows | iPhone | Always consult with a doctor regarding all medical issues. Keep active!!!
Best Answer
15 REPLIES 15

Fitbit is disappointing if you are looking for earning steps on a bike.   For heavens sake tho, with a REAL bike, wear a helmet.

Best Answer

If you are looking to maximize calorie burn per hour, cycling will give you far less of a return than walking. You would need to go flat out for the full duration to get anywhere near the same calories as you would walking.