Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disabled with Peripheral Neuropahy

Hi I'm a 2x Cancer Survivor (Colon & Breast). Due to my last treatments I have severe Peripheral Neuropathy. I have pain & numbing from the knee down. I wear AFO Braces on both feet and walk with a cain for balance. I want to be more active and lose some weight.  Does anyone have any suggestions of how I can do this. I'm new to fitbit and still learning. 

Best Answer
0 Votes
12 REPLIES 12

My grandmother was unsteady on her feet.  She talked to her doctor who said for stability she needed to work on muscle strength. So she joined Curves and did the mini trampoline (it has a handle) and their circuit.  There is also a woman on PBS who in the early morning does exercises in a chair - maybe start there to build strength? http://www.shoppbs.org/product/index.jsp?productId=12293042  

For losing weight, there are so many programs, you might just check out a variety of books from the library and then choose a couple that seem like a good fit.  I use the book DASH for Weight Loss by Marla Heller.  I really like it because I can eat anything (just not everything at once).  

Good luck!!!

Best Answer

I want to offer congratulations on your victories over cancer.  I have no specific exercises to offer but do you have access to a physical therapist through your insurance?  They would be most helpful in designing an exercise program given your current conditions.  I've read on these boards that though fit bit reports in terms of steps if you have one of the HR models it's actually using arm  movement to count steps so as long as your arms are moving it will be accumulating data to give you feed back  (if your exercise needs to be done sitting down or lying in bed).  The other thing I've read is people put the fit bit around their ankle if they need to use a walker.  Good Luck to you.  

Best Answer