Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do You Use %MHR Or %HRR For Your Heart Rate Training?

I have been using %MHR for going on 3 years now, and it got to the point that when I'm in zone 3, it hardly feels like I am even exercising.

Yesterday I set my Garmin fenix 5x to use %HRR, and did a 6 mile trail power walk/run, and now zone 3 feels more in line with what zone 3 should feel like.

For those who do not know what i am talking about, %MHR is calculated using percentage of max heart rate, and %HRR is calculated using percentage of heart rate reserve which is max heart rate minus resting heart rate.

I am 60 years old with a resting heart rate of 65, and a max heart rate of 160 (verified by a stress test).

Below is an example of what my zones look like...

Using % MHR
Zone 1 = 80-96 BPM
Zone 2 = 98-112 BPM
Zone 3 = 114-128 BPM
Zone 4 = 130-144 BPM
Zone 5 = 146-160 BPM

Using % HRR
Zone 1 = 113-122 BPM
Zone 2 = 123-132 BPM
Zone 3 = 132-141 BPM
Zone 4 = 142-151 BPM
Zone 5 = 151-160 BPM

You can see using %HRR is more challenging, but as your fitness level improves and you start feeling like you are not getting a good workout, you can use this method to up your game.

Just thought I would share this.

Best Answer
0 Votes
4 REPLIES 4

@bcalvanese, interesting stuff.  As you know I don't do heart rate training so I've never paid much attention to the fact there are different methodologies for calculating the zones.  That said, I'm curious what my numbers would yield.  My rates are as follows:

• Sleeping heart rate: 33 (from the Fitbit 5-minute average overnight graph)
  • Resting Heart rate: 43 (from the Fitbit calculation)
  • Maximum Heart rate: 182 (observed while running a race up a ski slope where we climbed 1,000' in under a mile).
Best Answer

@shipo wrote: