Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hysterectomy recovery

Hi all,

I'm 5 weeks post-op from a total hysterectomy plus removal of my fallopian tubes, sentinel lymph nodes, surrounding tissues, and a bit of the top of my vaginal canal (due to cancer). I'm lucky it was caught early, and it's like 90-95% probable that I'm cured, so no worries. I'm finally at the point where nothing hurts unless I overexert myself, and I can do a bit more every day.

Anyway, I'm not technically cleared for exercise yet, but I've been allowed to walk as long as I don't overdo it. I got my Inspire 2 on Saturday (unfortunately it arrived after I did like 3k steps at the zoo, according to my phone - and yeah, that did make me a bit sore in my lower abdomen, but I think that's because there were a lot of hills). I'm on beta blockers so I set custom HR zones and indicated an estimate of what my max heart rate would be. I also I set a low goal of 2,000 steps, and when that wasn't too bad I raised it to 2,500 yesterday. I've noticed that I'm getting credit for being in the fat burning zone when taking a hot shower, which is a bit interesting. But I guess that happens. I've switched to an elastic band because that's more comfortable, so today I didn't wear in the shower. It was getting late and I was 231 steps shy of my goal so since my partner was playing music I started just kind of low impact random dancing and I got past 4,500 steps and earned 60 zone minutes! I'm pretty sure that's the most I've moved since my surgery. Well, that and walking at the zoo.

I'm not sure I'm ready to raise my limits yet because I don't know if I can keep it up. I'll see how I feel tomorrow. If it seems like I've overdone it I'll scale it back but it was kind of fun to dance tonight even if I was in my pajamas in the living room and kitchen.