Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have a Newbie question about using "Run" exercise mode. Hope someone can help.

ANSWERED

I am trying to become a runner but I'm very new to running so I tend to alternate jogging and walking. Is the "Run" exercise mode the right mode to be using? I know I'll get better & faster but should I be using a different exercise mode while I'm new at it? I don't feel like I'm really running. I only see Run. Walk & Hike as my options. 

Michele from Belleview, Florida
Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Hi, @Auntm001, I used to be a runner a long time ago (I ran the London Marathon in 2001).  Last January, since it had been so long, I did the Couch to 5 k program.  I was using the Charge 2 at the time and found the Interval Workout really helpful for x minutes run / x minutes walk.  As you progress you may still find this helpful for improving -- either x minutes running / x minutes walk as you increase your distance, or x minutes sprint / x minutes jog for improving your time.  I think interval training is considered the best way of building and improving fitness.

Other than the Interval workout I think on your Ionic you will really enjoy the Run program, because when you sync you will have a record of your pace for each mile and a map, and you will also have a record of your heartrate so you can easily track your improvement.

Also, if you regularly use the Run program with GPS turned on you will get your cardio fitness score and you can watch that improve too!

Please do let us know how you get on with your running training.  I am sure it will inspire others!

Sense, Charge 5, Inspire 2; iOS and Android

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
13 REPLIES 13