Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need help!!!

Hi I’m currently stuck in limbo! I’m 30, 173cm and currently weigh 160lbs!

I'm going to try and slim down to 150lbs but I’m a beginner in how the whole calorie deficit/calories burned and how many calories I should eat etc Could someone give me an Idiot’s guide to weight loss please ....:

Best Answer
0 Votes
13 REPLIES 13

@RWHaffey You might want to poke around the Manage Weight forum here.  

Weight loss is calories in versus calories out.  Get yourself a proper food scale and weigh and log everything you put in your mouth, even drinks. You'll need to figure out your calories you need for maintenance and go from there. There are tons of resources on Google.  

Best of luck!

Heather | Community Council | Eastern Shore, AL
Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit Get Moving in the Lifestyle Discussion Forum.
Best Answer
0 Votes

In addition to great advice above - with so little to lose to healthy weight - don't stress out your body so much that in rebels and makes this a hard fight.

Select smallest weekly weight loss, the 250 cal deficit.

Since calories eaten is per grams - weigh everything but liquids.

I will add about figuring out your maintenance - guess what your Fitbit is telling you daily - your maintenance.

Just follow the program and the goals. No need to go elsewhere and estimate with 4-5 rough levels when you have a device ready to give you thousands of levels, changing each day as each day changes.

Some are eating goals - those really matter.

Some are movement goals - those help make the eating goals higher or lower.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Help the next searcher of answers, mark a reply as Solved if it was, or a thumbs up if it was a good idea too.
Best Answer
0 Votes

Thank you for your help