Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Jogger beginner - need some advice!

Hi everybody!

I've been using a Fitbit for a few years, mostly for walking and some workout in the gym, but now I've decided to take up some jogging but I need some advice. I apologize in advance if the post is a bit long, but I need to explain a couple of things LOL

This is not my first time actually. I tried it a few years ago - just before starting using my first Charge HR, but failed miserably.

Back then, I tried C25K. I did great the first few weeks, got to the 20 min run, did it but then started having problems and ditched the program shortly after.

Since then, I've lost wheight (a bit more than 30 pounds and I'm normal wheight, even if towards the higher value of the range), began eating better and became more fit. I walk 45-60 mins every day.

My questions.

1) I gave jogging a try a few weeks ago, to see how fit (or unfit) I was and decide how to plan it. I saw I can "run" without stopping for 6/7 mins. I'm not sure about C25K - didn't work the first time.

PLAN A running 5 mins three times a week for a week. Then add a minute every week.

PLAN B running 4 mins - walk 2 - run 4 mins. When I'm comfrotable with this, add a minute.

Would any of this work? If so, which one? (I'm trying plan B because a friend of mine mentioned the importance of adding a walking interval in the middle for heart conditioning. Is she right?)