Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Longest distance

Hi guys! I know that we have great athletes and Fitbiters in the Fitbit Community.

What's the longest distance you have achieved during a running activity? I'm not a professional runner but my longest distance was 15k 2 years ago. Do you guys have any tips to share in order to achieve a longer distance?

See you around! 😀

JuanJo | Community Moderator

Running with music makes you happy! Share Your Story

Best Answer
0 Votes
10 REPLIES 10

If you're looking to extend your ability to run distance, research Long Slow Distance (aka. LSD), it works wonders and has been proven effective since its inception in the 1920s (yes, nearly 100 years ago).  Here's a good starting point:

Using some of my history as an example, back in 2013, after 10 years of limited running (due to a leg which was so badly broken the surgeon who screwed me back together told me I'd never run again), I found myself in my mid-50s, 80 pounds overweight, and in such poor condition it took me over 45 minutes to walk a 5K event my company was participating in that year.  I started running again, bit by tiny little bit, with a quarter of a mile distance as my first few runs, I began to feel comfortable and then started extending things.  Within two months I was typically running three to four miles at a stretch, and two months after that I was running on average 40+ miles per week.  My first real clue things were changing was when I attended a get-together of coworkers from the company I'd left early that year, four of them walked right past me and didn't recognize me.