Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Metronome + Maffetone + Galloway

The most important factor for runners is avoiding injuries.

Up to a point, I've found increasing total miles improves my running times regardless of the training method. For maximum improvement, I find about 42 training miles a week works best for me. (This does not include steps outside of running). My maximum "Fitbit miles" a week to avoid injuries is about 75 miles. Past this point, I start to get minor injuries that force me to take time off to avoid chronic problems.

Metronome use

I've been using a metronome for walking and running for about three years. To determine the cadence for walking, I walked my normal route without a metronome and used the slowest cadence for a five minute period. I got this from the summary chart for steps. At first, it was 115 beats per minute (bpm). Now it's 120 bpm.  For running, I started with the cadence for what I call "old man running." This starts when it becomes natural to raise the arms. Each training day, I increased the cadence by 0.1 bpm. (I use Audacity for creating a click track. If anyone is interested,  I'll explain more.) This small increment is important as I don't notice the intensity increase from one run to the next. Since I do timed runs, I also increase the distance slightly each run.

Using a metronome sounds horrid, but after about ten training sessions, I found my feet followed it automatically without thought.

Maffetone Method

Dr. Maffetone has been doing extensive running research since the early 80's.