Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

More calories burned walking 1 mile then running 1 mile?

I started walking one mile and running the 1 mile back. It takes me 20 minutes to walk 1 mile and when I get to the 1 mile mark I click the goal flag and see I burned 95 calories. I then press the "run" option and job a mile back including jogging up a pretty steep hill. When I get to the 1 mile mark and hit goal it says I only burned 80 calories. That does not seem accurate since my heart rate was way higher then when I was walking?? I would think that I would have burned more calories from running then from walking. 
Am I doing something wrong with the fitbit watch? Im new to the watch so thought I would come ask for help here. 

Thank you

Best Answer
0 Votes
6 REPLIES 6

20 min to walk it.

You failed to mention how long to run it back. I'll bet less time.

What was your avgHR for each segment?

I'm going to bet we'll discover the fact that HR-based calorie burn is inflated when at the bottom of the aerobic range (also at the top).

Also the fact that the per mile calorie burn is not that huge of a difference anyway. Meaning a little inaccuracy here, a little there - and you have reversed amounts for your burn estimates (they are estimates afterall).

https://exrx.net/Aerobic/WalkCalExp

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Help the next searcher of answers, mark a reply as Solved if it was, or a thumbs up if it was a good idea too.
Best Answer
0 Votes