Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Overused knees??

ANSWERED
Hi, for those who runs everyday or clock an average of 30K steps or more, do you experience knee strains??
I am of a healthy weight & have gradually increased my stepcount from 25k average to around 38k to 50k per day in preparation for a full 42.195km run in May. Dunno if I am paranoid or what, but my knees feel weaker. Anyone having similar issues pls share with me your solutions?

I have already started on vegetable glucosamine & calcium pills every other day....
Best Answer
0 Votes
2 BEST ANSWERS

Accepted Solutions

Since you appear to be both young and light, this sounds very worrying. I have no experience of preparing for a marathon, but my feeling is you shouldn’t need to average 50k steps everyday. S​t​a​r​s​h​i​p​T​r​o​o​p​e​r is a Fitbit friend of mine who is in his 60’s and started to run marathons only a few years ago. He has provided details about his preparation and I know it didn’t involve that many steps. You may want to contact him. It would be silly to ruin your knees at your age. 

Dominique | Finland

Ionic, Aria, Flyer, TrendWeight | Windows 7, OS X 10.13.5 | Motorola Moto G6 (Android 9), iPad Air (iOS 12.4.4)

Take a look at the Fitbit help site for further assistance and information.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer

I accepted your friend request with your message.

In what way do your knees feel "weaker?"  

In general, your body responds to training for running any distance in the following progression with conditioning responses.

Cardiovascular first (days to weeks).

Muscular second ( 1-6 months).

Skeletal last (bones, ligaments, and tendons, 6 months-1 year).