Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RHR question. Is this a concern or better health

I started wearing my Fitbit Blaze on August 3rd. Prior to that time I went 1 year working a sedentary desk job. Prior to that I worked in retail for 9 years. 

On August 3rd my RHR was 71. I started my runs at the gym on a treadmill, barely hitting 2 miles In 35 minutes, huffing and puffing. Over the course of 6 weeks my RHR has gone down substantially. I now run 3 miles in 38 minutes. The majority of it at 5mph on an incline of 4 and every 8 minutes I raise the incline to 5 and speed up to 7mph for 2 minutes straight, reaching a peak of 175bpm. I do this 6 days a week for 45 minutes to an hour.

I was laying in bed earlier, just zoning out watching tv, on the fringe of sleep and I looked at my Fitbit to see my RHR was 53. I immediately had a wave of anxiety wash over me and I panicked, shooting it up to high 70’s. From what Google Doctor says “Just like a high RHR, a really low RHR is also bad.” I checked my RHR daily log beginning August 3rd and it’s steadly declined. As of yesterday it’s 58. The lowest logged is 56 but it’s always gone lower consistently. 

From my understanding, a low HEALTHY RHR is only seen in athletes and competitive runners. How accurate is the HR monitor? I didn’t really consider myself an athlete... or maybe that’s normal for my activity level. I just assumed that RHR would only be found in 10 mile runners... 

Best Answer
0 Votes
3 REPLIES 3

53 isn’t low enough to be concerned over, IMO. It sounds like you have been doing cardio enough that you have strengthened your heart so your HR is dropping normally. Elite athletes can be in the low 40s without issue. In general, a low RHR is a good thing. 

If you have further concerns I would talk to your doctor. 

Heather | Community Council | Eastern Shore, AL
Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit Get Moving in the Lifestyle Discussion Forum.
Best Answer