Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rowing Machine Questions

ANSWERED

I am enjoying, and getting a lot out of, the Concept2 rowing machines at my gym. I started doing this beginner training plan, and I'm at week 11 of 24. I row three days a week and take spin classes three days. (I also do some mellow walking and biking for transportation around the neighborhood.) I have some questions for more experienced rowers.

I have started to program intervals for every single workout, even the ones where I'm supposed to just row 8K or 10K meters at once. It's the only way I can drink water! When I tried to grab water to drink without a programmed rest break, I spilled my bottle all over the floor. Do other people just wait to drink until they've rowed 40 minutes? Should I just program very short rest periods? 

I'm still getting new blisters on my hands, some of them under my callouses. Is that normal?

The FitBit LOVES rowing. It gives me steps for rowing and not for biking or spin class. Spin class burns more calories because it raises my heart rate more. I've been walking around the block after spin class to get the steps. I don't take additional walks on the days that I row, just do my normal walking around. Bad idea? I'm never sure how much to rely on the calorie count thing. 

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

A couple of rowing tips (relevant to the machine or on water) -

- I've heard consistently from rowing coaches that hydration should be ongoing.  If you have a sweat-inducing row planned for the early morning, they emphasize hydrating the day before, rather than during.