Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

leg cramps

Can anyone out there give me some advice please, terrible calf cramps when I run next Park Run today so jog/walk cannot get rid of these extremely painful cramps I have tried the 10 seconds run 30 seconds walk regime did not make any difference, seeing physio who gave me exercises no difference been referred to vascular department by GP, I though since I started in March with Park Runs I would have got over these cramps by now, it's not as if I am new to exercise attending gym most days & started long walks before taking up Park Runs, I emailed Runners World forum but no ones replied.  I have come to a brick wall.

Best Answer
0 Votes
10 REPLIES 10

Do you have enough magnesium in your diet? A lot of people don't.  If not you might want to look into some foods or supplements for magnesium. Raw cacao (cacaonibs or dark chocolate bars of 90% or up) is also a great source for magnesium, but don't eat too much of it. I eat 20 grams daily to help with cramps. Then there are nuts and seeds. Simply google for magnesium rich foods.

Karolien | The Netherlands

Best Answer
0 Votes
Thanks for your reply, I started taking magnesium about 2 weeks ago as since I had a heart attack in 2013 I cut salt out of my diet. I also have started having a little piece of 85% dark chocholate, I rubbed deep freeze gel on the otherday no effect.
Best Answer
0 Votes

Magnesium and stretching is the only advice I am aware of and that I can give. If the cramps sustain despite doing both of that for a few weeks, I suggest you take it up with your doctor again.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Also I would not cool it. I am not 100% sure how to put this in English, as it is my second language. But cooling makes your veins tighten up, making the blood flow less. Cramps is a sign of "trash/acid" not being taken away with the blood/cleansed fast enough. This is also why you are more likely to cramp up on cold days.