Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new to fitbit, not sure it's accurately tracking my runs

newbie here...i've run the same route for two years, previously used mapmyrun for tracking. i don't think my fitbit is accurate when it tracks my runs, my pace and distance are much faster on the fitbit than on mapmyrun. i'm a very slow runner, there's no way i am as fast as fitbit says i am (i wish)!  

anyone encounter something similar? aside from this issue i love my fitbit, slowly learning the lay of the land, just concerned about the "inaccurate" tracking of my runs.

thanks. happy fitness 🙂

Best Answer
0 Votes
7 REPLIES 7

@purplesky52 which Fitbit device do you have? Are you using built-in or connected GPS? 

Community Council Member

Amanda | Wyoming, USA
Pixel Watch 2, Inspire 3, Sense | Android

Best Answer
0 Votes

i have the luxe. pretty sure i'm using the built in gps.

Best Answer
0 Votes

i checked and yes, using the fitbit gps.

Best Answer
0 Votes

You might try a run with the fitbit and mapmyrun, and post screenshots of both here. Is it possible there are settings (units, for example) which are causing the issue? I would also try a test using connected GPS.

CharlesKn | Mid-Atlantic, USA
60+, strength and cardio
Charge 5, Android, Windows

Best Answer
0 Votes

The Luxe does not have built-in GPS, so you must be using connected GPS with that device. 

Community Council Member

Amanda | Wyoming, USA
Pixel Watch 2, Inspire 3, Sense | Android

Best Answer
0 Votes

screenshots below, the 4.35 mile image is from the watch gps, the other is from the app gps. 🤔

mapmyrun always shows 4 miles with a pace between 14:00-15:00 min/mile.

Screenshot_20220722-073224.pngScreenshot_20220722-073233.png

Best Answer
0 Votes

Howdy neighbor! 😉 You should check out the Leakin Park Run (5k) on Saturday mornings 🙂