Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitbit calorie count seems very high, linked my fitness pal and it is saying I am under eating

Hi everyone!

I just received a fitbit Charge 3 for Christmas and as a product i am loving it so far but am slightly concerned about its accuracy.

To gauge an understanding of my current health I am 14 stone 4 lbs currently and aged 23 male.

5 foot 7

I decided to download my fitness pal primarily for food tracking as I was recommended it by friends stating it is better for calorie counting and tracking food, but wanted to link it to Fitbit because that's the whole point of having one.

My fitbit today bear in mind I am a student and spent the majority of the day sat down studying and then going to the gym for 1 hour according to fit bit currently I have burned just over 3000 calories.

I understand this includes sleep from 12 am onwards etc.

At the gym I did 22 minutes light jogging/ fast walking switching it up depending how i felt and then did a 15 minute bike session which the fitbit couldn't track  easily 😞 due to the gps not working correctly?

The treadmill machine said I burned only 100 calories in that time but my fitbit said I burned 300! Which is quite a big difference.

Anyways, upon logging my food today which did include a whole packet of biscuits! I apparently had a spare 1500 calories left to eat??? it had synced my step count which was around 6000 including the gym and had stated that I was currently under eating?

I guess my question to everyone is do i just unsync the apps use fitbit for exercise and sleep etc and use fitness pal for food diaries and inputting the calories my fitbit counts manually on treadmills etc but forget putting in steps for walking in general?

My resting heart rate is 55 on average but that is when I am asleep, typing this now its sitting at 80 but usually when watching tv laid down it goes to around 65.