Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Healthy alternative to Olive Oil

ANSWERED

Hi everyone! 

This maybe a really stupid question but im looking for a healthier alternative to Olive oil. I am a complete novice cook.... and by novice I mean cooking properly! I am trying many healthy recipes off the internet and most of them seem to contain olive oil, which seems very high in calories. I would like to substitute this for another alternative if possible, but im not sure what is the best option. 

Any advice would be appreciated!

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@repcosy: Is there any other reason why you are looking for alternative to Olive oil? 

Yes.. it is high in calorie. Olive oil contains both omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids which is good for you. For me, this is one of source of omega-3 and omega 6 other than chia and flax seeds. Also extra virgin olive oil is one of the healthiest fat on Earth. The key is to consume in moderation.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
19 REPLIES 19

@repcosy: Is there any other reason why you are looking for alternative to Olive oil? 

Yes.. it is high in calorie. Olive oil contains both omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids which is good for you. For me, this is one of source of omega-3 and omega 6 other than chia and flax seeds. Also extra virgin olive oil is one of the healthiest fat on Earth. The key is to consume in moderation.

Best Answer

@Bhuvana this maybe my lack of food knowledge showing. I did wonder if it was a stupid question haha. I shall be sure to keep it in my diet now youve mentioned the fatty acids within it. 

Best Answer
0 Votes