Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's the Best way to Food Prep for the Week? (Looking for pointers)

ANSWERED

I'm new to the pre-preping for the week to make my food healthier, portion controlled and easy for my busy life.  But I'm struggling with not having boring meals and finding the right kind of containers that aren't extra bulky and hard to clean. And especially not eating the same things over and over again.  Any suggestions?

Best Answer
5 BEST ANSWERS

Accepted Solutions

I get the Ziploc 3 compartment lunch containers and they are pretty sturdy and have lasted me months.

Similiar to these, I bought them a long time ago and I don't think they make my containers anymore.

First compartment: I usually make 2 chicken breasts boiled or baked, halve them and then take some other lean meat (turkey or low fat roast) and alternate between days. Second compartment: Make enough brown rice or whole wheat pasta to alternate as well. Thrid compartment: ince I'm not big on all the veggies I tend to stick with a salad, broccoli, green beans, or peas as my veggie.  I bring a banana, apple, or some type of fruit along to have a balance. Honestly, there are some weeks I don't want to meal prep so I just set aside some deli turkey, lettuce, low fat cheese and a low carb wrap to bring and pack a greek yogurt. It's hard....hopefully that helps a little!

View best answer in original post

Best Answer

Hi @Kbrown2930! Welcome to the forums!

I am BIG into meal prep, and if I don't get it done, we end up eating frozen dinners or takeout -- not good! So planning is key! I always make a spreadsheet with meals for the week and snack options. This might sound limiting but really, if you prep the stuff in advance, you can switch out nights for whatever sounds good at the time.

This is a screenshot of my normal meal plan template, if it helps:

MealPlanScreenshot.JPG