Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitbit Ionic suddenly stopped tracking activity, now 3 times in a row

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

I’ve been using my fitbit ionic to track my runs for a few months now. Until last friday (may 11th) no problems, however since then totally unexpected and without any interaction the ionic stops tracking the run during the exercise. The fitbit somehow returned to ‘normal’ mode, showing time. Is this hardware related or software? Few days ago -after the first problems but before the last one today- i upgraded the software.

Best Answer
14 REPLIES 14

It’s the same for me, since the new upgrade, when I use the Ionic to swim: the app crashes, sometimes even my Fitbit crashes so it restarts, whil I swim...

yesterday I swam 3000 meters, but it tracked 150 meters...

I have a Fitbit Ionic since January 2018. It’s my 4th now, during my warranty of 2 years. I hope this one lasts much longer. Updates are dangerous!
Best Answer

This happens to me at least once every couple of weeks. It happens in Run, Walk, Swim, Elliptical and Workout modes. I often don't notice that it's stopped tracking right away either, especially while swimming. I regularly restart my Ionic and it still randomly stops tracking. It's very frustrating. 

Best Answer

Same here GPS stopped working 4 miles into my run this morning. This is getting so frustrating having the OS updates cause multi problems.

Best Answer

This is happening to me frequently when I hit run/start...midway through my run, the watch stops tracking as if I just stopped in the middle of it. Has anyone identified why this is? 

Before the updates I did not have any issues.