Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

10,000 steps

ANSWERED

Hello, I am new to fitbit, my sister got me the charge 2 and I just got it 2 days ago.  I was wondering has anyone been able to make 10,000 steps a day? I read that it takes 10,000 steps to lose a pound a week, that seems kind of high, is this doable? 

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Hello, and welcome.

It take a calorie deficit to lose weight.  The general idea is that it takes 3500 calories to burn a pound of weight off.  This can be a combination of eating less and/or moving more.  So, depending on what your calorie intake is, your weight, your current number of steps a day, well... the answer is, maybe.

There is no magic number of steps that will cause you to lose weight.  I've lost weight doing well under 10,000 steps and maintained my weight eating 3x that.  However, moving a little more every day and eating a little less every day should cause you to lose weight.

Anne | Rural Ontario, Canada

Ionic (gifted), Alta HR (gifted), Charge 2, Flex 2, Charge HR, One, Blaze (retired), Trendweight.com,

Down 150 pounds from my top weight (and still going), sharing my experiences here to try and help others.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
7 REPLIES 7

Hello, and welcome.

It take a calorie deficit to lose weight.  The general idea is that it takes 3500 calories to burn a pound of weight off.  This can be a combination of eating less and/or moving more.  So, depending on what your calorie intake is, your weight, your current number of steps a day, well... the answer is, maybe.

There is no magic number of steps that will cause you to lose weight.  I've lost weight doing well under 10,000 steps and maintained my weight eating 3x that.  However, moving a little more every day and eating a little less every day should cause you to lose weight.

Anne | Rural Ontario, Canada