Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calorie deficit for petites!

ANSWERED

Hi guys! Hope you're having a good week. 

Basically, I'm intrigued to hear from how you fellow 'petites' (I'm 5'3") are managing your calorie deficit and weight loss. 

About me: I'm fairly new to fitbit, I bought my Zip three weeks ago now. I'm hoping to lose a stone in total, as I'm currently on the 'unhealthy' side of the BMI for my height. The fitbit has been awesome for getting me out of the house and walking around the countryside 🙂 I track using Myfitnesspal and eat a varied but healthy diet, always within my recommended limits and mostly 'under' compared to my cals burned walking. I've been using the same programme for 3 weeks: 750 calorie deficit, 10k+ steps per day. In week one I lost 2.25lb, in week two I lost nothing at all, in week 3 I lost 0.75lb.

So since I've been so good (and I chug four to five pints of water over the course of a day) - what's with the inconsistent weight loss? I manually counted my burn and intake, and using the old '3500 calories is a pound weight loss' formula, I should have lost 2lb each week.

I've now revised my fitbit programme to 'Hard, i.e. 2lb weight loss a week, but now I'm being recommended to limit myself to 887 calories a day in food - is that okay, given the one-size-fits-all 1200 cal minimum rule? Can a petite girl safely eat that and lose weight?

Best Answer
2 BEST ANSWERS

Accepted Solutions

Hi there,

I am even more "peptit-er" than you. I'm only 5 ft tall.  When I started using my fitbit charge HR device last summer, I was 65kg and now I am 52kg. And my bodyfat went down from 40% to 26%.

I didn't follow the deficit plan of fitbit as I don't think I can follow it at all.