Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calories in vs calories out

Hello, 

I am still pretty new at this fit bit stuff, I have only had mine for about a week and I some questions that maybe someone can answer, sorry if they are dumb questions but I really want to understand this.  First how come in the section where in says calories in vs calories out it shows that I am over but it also says I have calories left to eat? I thought over meant that I spent all my calories.  Also I was wondering why do some people eat the calories they burned? Isn't the point to burn as many calories as you can for weight loss, if I eat them back can I still lose weight? 

Best Answer
0 Votes
3 REPLIES 3

I'm gonna try to explain this in detail cause I know no other ways, so bear with me.
The calories left to eat are based off your expected burn for the day, which is either based on your basal metabolic rate (BMR) - this is pretty much what you burn just by being a living, breathing human being and is based off your height, weight, age and sex - or your total daily energy expenditure (TDEE) - your BMR multiplied by an activity factor (like sedentary, lightly active, etc.). 

I'm not actually sure which it is. But this is why you wake up and have burned several hundred already.

I believe the reason you're shown that you're over your calories is because you simply haven't burned all your calories yet. For example if you're done eating for the day and log it at 7pm, the average american 40 year old woman (we'll call her Amy) would still burn over 300 calories during the remainder of the day even if all she did was sit and watch tv or go to sleep (because BMR).
If Amy had a goal of being in a 500 calorie deficit, the Fitbit would say she was over on calories for the day, since she's technically only in a 200 calorie deficit at 7pm.