Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fitbit Since Mid Feb - Ramping Up Use Now

I'll start off by saying I'm not a health nut.  I love fat, greasy foods, and I don't know much about nutrition or really anything about exercise either.

I purchased my Fitbit in the middle of February as a gift to myself to lose a little weight.  I've never been visibly overweight, and I know that I have a little bit of muscle mass (which my wife is terrified I'm going to lose, so that's another challenge all together).   That being said, at only 5' 3" or so, I've always felt like I've had a bit to lose.

From when I was 20 until I was about 25 I used to work in retail, running around all day - moving heavy boxes, on my feet non stop for 12 hour days...  I would also eat, and snack, and drink sodas just about all day.  I guess those two things balanced themselves out, as weight was never an issue or anything I ever really considered.  I think the most I'd ever weighed during that job was 130.  

A couple of years back I started working a desk job for the first time in my life.  My diet did not change.  My body did.  It wasn't until the pants I was wearing to work felt WAY too tight (and I had to wonder what sort of changes in detergent could cause such a shrinking of clothes) that I finally stepped on the scale to see I was fastly approaching 160 lbs.  

I didn't notice anything different, and my wife, god bless her, never said a thing to make me think I was gaining too much weight - but it was apparent.

I stopped eating whole pizzas and XL bags of candy during the work day and got myself down to about 148-150 pretty easily without much effort.  I used to run and go to the gym but around that time I also started having new babies in the house and things got a little harder to get motivated to work out.

I'm settling in now.