Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need to drop some weight fast

Over the past year, I went from an active job to a full-time student, and I have gained 30 pounds. As a result, I have high blood pressure and swelling in my legs. My thyroid is fine, and so is my other bloodwork. My doctor recommended that I lose about 20 pounds and quickly to get the pain in my legs to subside. It is very difficult to exercise for long because of the pain and swelling. He also recommended that I try the Dukan diet for awhile to jump-start the weight loss. I think part of it has to do with the fact that the diet makes you lose the water weight. I do not eat sugar, and the carbs that I eat are mainly rice and whole wheat pasta. Those things are easy for me to avoid. I have been tracking my calorie intake for the past two months, and I average 1000-1400 calories a day. That number includes any wine or other beverages (yes, I drink black coffee). Has anyone tried this diet? The goal is to drop weight fast to get the swelling under control because diuretics are not working. Once the swelling is under control, I am to start adding more foods slowly as I start to exercise more. 

I am 5'8" and weigh 200 pounds. I average about 2-3 thousand steps a day and more if my feet do not swell too much. It is hard to wear shoes sometimes:-) Any hints or tips would be welcome.

Best Answer
0 Votes
7 REPLIES 7