Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New attempt at weight loss, trying a very low calorie (VLC) diet.

ANSWERED

I'm new to Fitbit and hoping to have success with a very low calorie (VLC) diet in conjuction with increased exercise.  I am logging food on Fitbit.com, counting steps with a Versa, and checking weight daily with an Aria.  My plan is to keep caloric intake consistently less than 800 kcal/d while getting at least 10k steps per day.

I am aware that studies don't show better long-term results with VLC diets compared with conventional low calorie diets and such diets can variably reduce resting metabolic rate, thus impacting weight loss success in the long run.  But I'm not at all patient, and I think seeing quicker results is something I need to stay motivated.

I am male and started the program on December 9th with a weight of 258.6 lbs, height 5'11" (BMI 36.1).  I think this is probably the heaviest I have ever been.  My Aria tells me that my starting body fat percentage was 35%, though I understand that is not very accurate.  For what it's worth, I am not muscular or athletic.

I'll journal my progress in this thread and would love to hear from others.  Has anyone here had more than a year or two of sustained weight loss after starting out with a VLC diet?

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions