Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Good Results with Strict Diet & Exercise!

Hi... I am a newbie here and would appreciate some help.  

I started a low carb diet (did no formal exercise but stay under 20 net carbs daily) on Jan 1st, and weighed in at 128 pounds.  I lost an initial 8 pounds in January from just dieting, which was great, however, I felt that my body looked grossly deflated in all the wrong places (my butt, especially) and my belly fat remains!  

So, to counter-act this "new look", I figured I would start exercising (light weights and at least 30 minutes of elliptical daily), to help tighten up the belly and to fill up those deflated areas with a bit of toned muscle. I never miss a day of exercise and I never cheat on my diet.  Since I started exercising, however, the only thing that is bulking up are my thighs (ugh)...no change in the belly fat or butt.  My weight has not changed since I started exercising, btw.  

I guess I should say that I am female, 50 years old, have a goal weight of about 115 pounds and body fat (per the aria scale) of 26%... I am not overweight, have normal BMI, but have lost my muscle through the years and gained inches in my middle (when I was younger, I was solid, with no more than 18% body fat.  I am hypothyroid, was diagnosed with PCOS and am in full blown menopause per my last blood work.  I take armor thyroid, metformin, progesterone and spironolactone daily.  I know that age and hormones have a little something to do with my current situation (no butt, big belly), but there has to be a way to fix this body imbalance.  Or, am I just unrealistic because this is the crap that comes with aging!

Any suggestions are appreciated.  Or a reality check that I should accept what I have got?  This has become very frustrating

Any recommendations for exercise to lose the belly fat?  to build the butt muscles ?

Thanks you , in advance, for your input.

Best Answer
0 Votes