Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

yoga

Hello-

I am new to the fit bit community. I hope someone can answer this for me...I want to be more active so I do walk daily and reach my 10,000 ( most days) I am going to yoga. My fit bit does not record this activity as steps. I do not increase my heart rate and it is really more relaxing. Is Yoga a good component to add to my life? Is it as beneficial as a brisk walk?

Best Answer
8 REPLIES 8

I'm kind of looking forward to the responses on this. From my ignorant perspective, I think yoga does things internally, things like massaging internal organs and stretching - whereas a brisk walk gets the blood flowing a little faster, a little more oxygen being used. If it weren't so expensive, I might give yoga a try myself. For now, stretching seems to me to be doing the same thing.

I'm sure someone who knows a lot more about yoga than I do will chime in. For what it's worth, I've never heard any people talk about doing yoga who weren't already fantastically fit, so there is probably something to it.

Those who have no idea what they are doing genuinely have no idea that they don't know what they're doing. - John Cleese
Best Answer
0 Votes

@Ukase wrote:

I'm kind of looking forward to the responses on this. From my ignorant perspective, I think yoga does things internally, things like massaging internal organs and stretching - whereas a brisk walk gets the blood flowing a little faster, a little more oxygen being used. If it weren't so expensive, I might give yoga a try myself. For now, stretching seems to me to be doing the same thing.

I'm sure someone who knows a lot more about yoga than I do will chime in. For what it's worth, I've never heard any people talk about doing yoga who weren't already fantastically fit, so there is probably something to it.