More sophisticated calories burned calculations

I've been using Fitbit for 18 months and my two biggest wish list items are:

1. Include floors climbed in the calories burned calculation. Currently, calories burned does not include stairs climbed. For example, if you walk 1 mile flat vs. 1 mile w/ lots of stairs, FitBit will say you burned the same amount of calories. It seems like it should be relatively easy for Fitbit to add a simple multiplication step to their algorithm that takes percent incline and decline into account (and no, you don't lose the same number of calories burned on the uphill when you turn around and go down the same hill).

2. Incorporate Fitbit's steps/floors data into the calorie calculation for manually entered activities. Currently, when you manually enter an activity, the calories burned for that activity take into account only what you enter, not what the Fitbit recorded in terms of steps and floors. A more accurate calorie count could be provided if Fitbit combined the info you entered, say, elliptical trainer (medium resistance) for 45min, with the steps and floors your Fitbit recorded during that time, say 4000 steps and 20 floors.

Moderator edit: Labels

6 Comments
Michael
5K Racer

I think the Fitbit already takes the intisity of your motions into account when calculating calories burned. (I know it shows more calories burned when I spend 15 minutes going up/down stairs than it does with me walking full speed for 15 minutes.)

Also, how are you getting your Fitbit to register 20 floors while on an elliptical trainer? That should never happen as it measures altitiude changes, and I assume your elliptical trainer isn't moving while you are using it. (That is why the Fitbit won't register any floors on a stair climber machine.)

fitphoenix
Jogger