Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2 questions: How to set value of slider and how to call function from index.js from index.jsx?

ANSWERED

Hello everyone, I am a relatively new developer in Fitbit world. I am trying to code Settings and have a couple of questions:

1) I have 2 sliders representing upper and lower heart rate thresholds. I need to make it such that 'upper threshold' slider cannot be dragged lower than the 'lower threshold' slider and vice versa (otherwise lower threshold can be higher than upper). I am trying to set value of slider in onChange, but it doesn't seem to work:

<Slider
	label={`Custom upper threshold: ${props.settings.upper} bpm`}
	settingsKey="upper"
	min="20"
	max="220"
	onChange={value => {
	  if (parseInt(value) < parseInt(props.settings.lower)) {
	    // none of below lines seem to set the value
		//props.settingsStorage.setItem('upper', parseInt(props.settings.lower));
		//props.settingsStorage.setItem('upper', props.settings.lower);
		//props.settings.upper.value = props.settings.lower;
		//props.settings.upper = props.settings.lower;
		//props.settings.upper = parseInt(props.settings.lower);
		//this.value = parseInt(props.settings.lower);
		//this.value = props.settings.lower;
	  }
	}}
  />
  <Slider
	label={`Custom lower threshold: ${props.settings.lower} bpm`}
	settingsKey="lower"
	min="20"
	max="220"
  />

None of those commented javascript lines seem to be able to change the value in the 'upper' slider onChange event. Some of them make the slider 'stuck' visually in UI, but the value is still changing in the settingsStorage.

2) How do I call a function in companion/index.js from settings/index.jsx? For example:

compainon/index.js file:
function testFunc(value) {
  console.log('>>>>>>>>>> upper threshold val: ' + value);
}

settings/index.jsx file:
  <Slider
	label="test
	settingsKey="somekey"
	min="0"
	max="10"
	onChange={value => testFunc(value)}
  />

Best Answer
0 Votes