Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing the background image depending on the time

ANSWERED

Fitbit SDK noob here. I have a simple clock face that I've written with a bunch of custom functionality for me. It's based on a free clock face that I liked, but I wanted to include my own photos as the background. What I have so far is a simple switcher that loads a different image from an array based on the time. It's supposed to switch every hour.

This simple code calls util.getImage to pull an image randomly from an array that is appropriate for the time of day (sunrise, day, dusk, etc.)

if(mins != 0 && changeImage == false) {
    changeImage = true;
}
if(mins == 0 && changeImage) {
    bg.href = `images/${util.getImage(hours)}`;
    changeImage = false;
}

This runs just fine for the first four or so images, and then it gets stuck on one image. I've refactored the code a number of times but nothing seems to be amiss. I'm wondering if there is a performance issue and maybe I'm using too many images or they need to be optimized to death.

Does anyone have a clue what the issue is, or perhaps I'm going about this the wrong way?

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

An alternative: whenever the image is changed, calculate the time at which it's due to be replaced.

Then, ontick can compare the current time with the replace time; if the current time is ahead, replace the image as above.

This should work even if the clockface isn't displayed for days.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
7 REPLIES 7

I wonder what your

bg.href = `images/${util.getImage(hours)}`;

actually returns.

Did you log it?

I would probably just refresh the href inside my onTick to full hour

(mins === 0 && secs === 0)

and name the images 12.png, 1.png...

So href = `yourPath/${hour}.png`

Best Answer
0 Votes