Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make a companion app?

Hi, I am new to Fitbit studio and i want to make an app running in fitbit ionic which can communicate to my android and ios app. From what i have heard is that we have companion api  for that purpose and i want to know that whether we can build our companion app in native languages (android, Swift) and communicate with the app in ionic if it so...How can i do that.....?

Best Answer
0 Votes
12 REPLIES 12

If you work with Fitbit Studio you can write code in JavaScript which will be run within the Fitbit Android/iOS app. From the references: "The Companion APIs are accessible by applications which run within the Fitbit mobile application only."

Here is an example project with communication between Fitbit device and the companion/phone app. The code for the companion/phone is in the companion directory. In the example there is simple (short) messaging from the companion/phone to the Fitbit device.

I hope this gives you an answer on how you can use the companion API and how to communicate. For more data or larger files I would recommend the file transfer API, you can find more info about that in this answer.

For your question on native languages (android, Swift). As far as I know, you need to use the companion API together with Fitbit studio and JavaScript as someone from the community. Surely the developers themselves need to use Java and Swift to program for Android and iOS respectively.

Best Answer

Hello,

I'm new here, but I've got my Versa after my Pebble Time (and Classic), and I'm still wondering how can I port my Android Pebble companion app to work with Versa, since there is no known way of interfacing native Android application with Fitbit App to communicate with Versa (two-way). I mean, PebbleKit-way, not some JS running in Fitbit app.