Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sensor data collection

Hi. I am new to Fitbit app development and not sure how to start.

I'm trying to get raw sensor data(like accelerometer, gyroscope, etc) from Fitbit sense and store it as a CSV. there is one thing that I can not understand. what exactly is the companion app? so far I know that I need to use the device API to make an app to get the data and then send the data to my phone. so when I use the companion API do I need to make an android/ios app by myself? or does the companion API runs on the official Fitbit app.

Best Answer
0 Votes
6 REPLIES 6

There's a brief description of the structure here. Your second guess is closest to correct: the companion API is built into the Fitbit mobile app, so your companion code runs within the context of the Fitbit app.

Unfortunately, the companion API doesn't provide any means of storing data to the phone's file system, so you'll need to send the data from your companion code to a server app somewhere. That could be a native Android/iOS app that runs on the phone, or a remote web server.

Peter McLennan
Gondwana Software
Best Answer

Peter,

I looked into your fitbit-accel-fetcher, but could not get it built for a Fitbit Sense. Before I dig further, since you looked into this kind of thing before, do you think it would even be realistic to assume that I could continuously get accel data for at least 12 sps, heart beat data (preferably all "beats," or at least per-minute data (including min/median/max, if possible) and may be per-minute skin temperature, while still allowing for an at least 12 hour power budget until recharging? Basically, I want to create long-term FFT time series from the accel data, especially in the 5-6Hz range, hence the 12 sps.

Thanks,

Hans-Werner

Best Answer
0 Votes