Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing time, hr, and gps information from fitbit device?

ANSWERED

Hi,

I am a graduate student and I want to write an app that stores time, gps, and heart rate data from the phone. I would like to take a walk and record this information. I think of it like a timer application. I click start and I store my time, gps, and heart rate data on the phone. My question is simple. Is there a technical way to write an app on the fitbit that can store this data on an Android phone? Conversely, is there a way to write an android app that can obtain this information (via a library of some sort) from the fitbit? For example, I think this is possible for Xamarin and iOS (see here).

If none of these approaches are possible, is there any way I can record a route I walk with the data I need? In other words, is there a way that I can store data I record from a route and obtain it later in csv format from a web api or something? That is, record a route/session and then obtain all the time, gps, and heart rate data as needed. I doubt I will record a lot of sessions, but I would like to make it extensible in theory from 1 to N routes/sessions.

Thanks,
hlyates

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Your options are:

(1) Download activity data from the web API. This option only requires minimal programming.

(2) Write a FitBit app that collects activity data from the device and transfers it to the companion, which then uploads it to your server. The native phone app then downloads it from the server.

(3) Write a FitBit app that collects its own data for your own activity sessions and then transfers it to the companion for upload, as in (2).