Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sundial Clock Face

I decided to try and learn how to make my own clock face. I have no previous experience with JavaScript or SVG. 

To get started I am trying to modify the clock tutorial to look light the stock Sundial clock face and was wonder how you would recommend going about creating the tick marks around the face. I was able to get a rectangle to rotate around the center but I am having trouble setting the color. 

<defs>
        <symbol id="ticks">
          <g id="ticksGroup" transform="translate(50%,50%) rotate(0)">
            <rect id="rect1" x="$-1" y="-50%+1" width="2" height="5%" fill="red"/>
          </g>
        </symbol>
        <symbol id="numbers">
            <text font-family="System-Regular" fill="red"/>
        </symbol>
      </defs> 

<use href="#ticks">
    <set href="#ticksGroup" attributeName="transform" to="translate(50%,50%) rotate(6)"/>
  </use>
  <use href="#ticks">
    <set href="#ticksGroup" attributeName="transform" to="translate(50%,50%) rotate(12)"/>
    <set href="#rect1" attributeName="fill" to="white"/>
  </use>

Also, Is there an easier way to generate all the tick marks other then copying and pasting 60 times?

Best Answer
0 Votes
2 REPLIES 2

@mdb17 wrote:

I decided to try and learn how to make my own clock face. I have no previous experience with JavaScript or SVG. 

To get started I am trying to modify the clock tutorial to look light the stock Sundial clock face and was wonder how you would recommend going about creating the tick marks around the face. I was able to get a rectangle to rotate around the center but I am having trouble setting the color. 

<defs>
        <symbol id="ticks">
          <g id="ticksGroup" transform="translate(50%,50%) rotate(0)">
            <rect id="rect1" x="$-1" y="-50%+1" width="2" height="5%" fill="red"/>
          </g>
        </symbol>
        <symbol id="numbers">