Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

heart rate returning null

ANSWERED

Hi, I am very new to javascript and am not sure what i am doing wrong here. I am having a problem where I am trying to obtain heart rate but it is returning null. I have allowed permission in the package.json files. I have simplified my code significantly just to see if I could get the value back but it is still returning null. My previous code was checking all of the necessary permissions/body presence/display on/etc. Using print statements I was able to verify that all of those worked. I have separated out the below code, and it is still returning null. What I want is to have the heart rate start when the display turns on. Do i need to add the hrm event listener? I was hoping not to need to use that, and just use the display event listener and then to grab the most recent value.

display.onaddEventListener("change", () => {
  const hrm = new HeartRateSensor();
  hrm.start();
  console.log(hrm.heartRate);
});

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@eclarkie22 wrote:

Hi, I am very new to javascript and am not sure what i am doing wrong here. I am having a problem where I am trying to obtain heart rate but it is returning null. I have allowed permission in the package.json files. I have simplified my code significantly just to see if I could get the value back but it is still returning null. My previous code was checking all of the necessary permissions/body presence/display on/etc. Using print statements I was able to verify that all of those worked. I have separated out the below code, and it is still returning null. What I want is to have the heart rate start when the display turns on. Do i need to add the hrm event listener? I was hoping not to need to use that, and just use the display event listener and then to grab the most recent value.