Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

KETO sleep quality and insomnia

Ladies and Gentlemen (and @Dominique and @SunsetRunner )-- this is a continuation of a Keto thread in the Eat Well forum.  I've been eating Keto for about 6 months and have found that my sleep patterns have changed, and are consistent with reports of others who eat Keto.  Here's my chronology:

• 5 years ago - snored frequently and my wife starting sleeping with earplugs.  Sleep quality still pretty good
  • 2 years ago - kept waking up tired, was diagnosed with sleep apnea, started using CPAP machine, sleep quality improved
  • 9 months ago - lost weight (low carb but not Keto), stopped snoring, stopped using CPAP machine, my wife no longer needs earplugs.  Sleep quality good, 8+ hours per night
  • 6 months ago - started Keto, sleep patterns changed
    • When IN ketosis: light sleep, frequent waking, 6 hours required, quickly alert upon rising.
    • When OUT of ketosis: heavy sleep, sleep through night, 8 hours required, groggier upon rising.

(I am strongly in ketosis about 4 days per week)

I've seen that many people who eat Keto report experiencing insomnia, and there are a number of articles and YouTube videos on the topic.  I don't experience my light sleep as insomnia; I rather enjoy drifting in and out of sleep knowing I will rise fully energized one hour before the alarm clock.

Here is a theory as to why you need less sleep when eating Keto: we need sleep primarily to recharge our brains and neurology (with a sedentary lifestyle, we certainly don't need to recharge our muscles).  When we sleep, 85% of our energy is consumed by our brains, and dreaming is evidence of the processing of short-term memories into long-term (outside the scope of this post).