Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to FitBit, settings for FITBIT and MFP? Getting lots of extra calories!

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Should I change my settings on one or the other or does this sound right? My Fitness Pal has me as 160 Lb 30 yo Female looking to lose 1 lb a week. I have it set on sedentary, I'm an attorney but I walk back and forth from my court house around 1 block each way 2-3 times a day. My "calories allowed"  on sedentary is 1250. I have a 1.5 year old I play with and do general light housework (or nothing) in the evening. Wearing my fitbit has given me back more calories than I expected as I thought that was sort of calculated into my "sedentary" lifestyle. I move a little but i'm not going to the gym or exercising regularly. I don't mind having extra calories if its true I've earned them!

Should I unsync my fitbit from myfitness pal and just use the activity calculator in myfitnesspal for the occasions I really do get in an additional walk or exercise? I've seen a bit of discussion on here about changing the settings or allowing negative calorie adjustment. A little confused on that so far.

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 REPLY 1

Hello @Chelsie9051, nice to have you here in the Fitbit Community! If you are using MyFitnessPal note that Fitbit does not send your activity to MyFitnessPal as a series of separate cardio exercises. Instead of this, it passes an adjustment of calories. To understand better this please take a look to the following article: What is the Calorie Adjustment in my Exercise Diary?