Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pulling Data from multiple trackers (PHP)

Hi,

I am a PHP developer and I am wondering about pulling data from multiple fitbit trackers with a PHP web application. Basically we are looking at purchacing trackers and issuing them to each member of our football team. The club would own the trackers and loan them out to players for a period where we would then track their distance and sleep stats.

As it stands I have written a basic PHP application that stores basic player data (weight, height, training attendance etc.) I am wondering if is is possible / difficult to extend this PHP application to pull in data from the fitbit trackers we will be providing the players with.

I am just wondering if there are any issues with this plan before we invest. Can multiple trackers be registered to the club account? Sync'd with the one device?

If any one has gone down this route and can point me to an example even better!

Many thanks,
Sean

Best Answer
0 Votes
13 REPLIES 13

You can develop an application that may request access to as many trackers as you want.

As long as fitbit's user who owns tracker grants access(via oauth 1.0a process) for your app to read/write his data you should be able to get all the functionality you need.

Please read more at: https://wiki.fitbit.com/display/API/Fitbit+API

Ivan Bahdanau
Senior Software Developer at Fitbit
Best Answer

Just in case it is not clear, although Fitbit devices use BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) for communications, they use a proprietary protocol and not any of the BT standardized profiles.  So you can't expect to exchange data directly with the device.  However, they have a very robus developer's API, including being able to "subscribe" to specific devices.  Hence, as soon as they sync your server can be notified and you can collect the data.  (Since this question is asked on the Web API forum, I supposed you already knew that...)