Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timezone about logWeight、logFat

Hi,

I am a mobile application development engineer. I use fitbitApi to sync data recorded by users on my app to fitbit.  The  body weight date parameters is based on the timezone configured in the user's profile or use the phone  setting timezone?

The time zone of the phone is different from the time zone of the Fitbit app。

iOS platform:

The logweight request is success, but is not display in Fitbit ios app .

Android  platform:

The logweight request is success, also be seen on Fitbit android app

Best Answer
0 Votes
5 REPLIES 5

Hi @VeSncDeveloper,

Welcome to the forums!

All date and time-related fields in the API requests and responses are rendered in the local time of the resource owner's timezone (either authorized user or the owner of the resource requested) that they've set on their fitbit.com profile.

A user's current time zone and UTC offset in milliseconds can be retrieved through the Get Profile endpoint.

I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any additional questions.

Best Answer
0 Votes

I've recently started developing using the Fitbit API as well and this is something that takes a lot of effort to work with. While one can indeed derive the UTC offset or the timezone from the profile, that's only applicable when looking at data from today but not for historic trending.

Most countries change timezones twice a year using daylight savings, and the UTC offset is invalid. One can take the timezone and then try to run calculations on what the offset was at that time but it's clunky. If a user moves to a different timezone, it also becomes invalid with no way to account for it.

Both scenarios above are easily mitigated by adding another field like 'logIdUTC' with the timestamp at UTC. It should be easy to add on your end and makes life for developers so much easier.

Best Answer
0 Votes

Hi @PatrickP,