Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Eating Too Little

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

Height: 5 foot

Weight: 99-100lbs

Exercise: 1 1/2 hours walking Pace// nearly 20 min per mile. 10k steps. 

Well, Fitbit says I need 1400 calories per day to maintain. I walk at a very fast pace every morning at 4:30 for an hour and a half (roughly 10k steps) . When I use other calories estimate calcs, they say I need around 2000 calories per day. Which is right? 

Best Answer
0 Votes
4 REPLIES 4

@HostingOfDawn - 

I am a computer programmer, not a doctor or nutritionist, however...

If I understand the question as being "What is the minimum calories I need to consume the replenish the calories burned through exercise and just keeping alive, with no need to either gain or lose weight?" then here is my take. But we have to look at four things - though you don't one of them and we will assign that thing a value of zero.

Keep in mind the Fitbit 1400 calories to maintain and that there are 1440 minutes in the day.

First the just keeping alive calorie burn - it's called your BMR or Basic Metabolic Rate. For a pretty good estimate of that value look at your calorie burn estimated by Fitbit during your sleep time either on the web or on the Fitbit app. I suspect it is about 1 calorie per minute by what you have stated in your post. Mine is 1.2, but I am 65 years old, 5' 11" and 190 lbs.

Now you know where the 1400 calories a day that Fitbit talks about comes from. But that is only valid if you lay in bed 24/7 and you don't.

The "thing" I mentioned that looks like it will be zero, is the deficit calorie count needed to reach a person's weight goal. Mine is 500 calories because I want to lose some weight gained after surgery which was also over the holidays. Only five pounds gained in two months, but I want it off fast. I should reach my goal by the end of this month.