Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Random friend requests?

Replies are disabled for this topic. Start a new one or visit our Help Center.

How often do you get random friend requests from complete strangers? Would it seem strange to get a friend request from someone basically one generation age difference and with about a 4 times greater daily step average or is that just overly skeptical? Are there any online security risks to accepting friend requests based on the standard information available through this site? Apologies if any of those seem dumb but I'm new to this and still exploring and learning as I go.

Best Answer
141 REPLIES 141

Do you do challenges? I get random friend requests all the time, but most of them are people I have done challenges with. Some are people who see my posts on here. I don't think there is any harm in accepting all friend requests. They can't find out anything about you you aren't willing to reveal.

Best Answer

Yes, I do the workweek challenge but the person isn't in that. I've also done a NYC and Yosemite challenge. I didn't realize others could see that I did those if we weren't already friends. That may be the source. Thanks.

Best Answer

People can send you a friend request by clicking on you from the boards, from challenges, and even by a name search.  I have about 100 friends on my list.....and I know 3 of them in my non-digital world.

I like a big friends list so I get in on more challenges and so I can work my way up the ratings incrementally.  I find it useful.

Best Answer

1st  there are security risks whenever you are online, the level of risk has much to do with the precautions you take

2nd  friend requests that are a generation apart or at different levels ... ask yourself how would they know when  your profile reveals absolutely none of this info whatsoever ... for myself, I ignore any request from any user that reveals no info