Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

82 yr old mom

ANSWERED

I gave my 82 yr old mom -- who has always been a super active walker, swimmer, etc. -- a fitbit and now she is obsessed with reaching 10,000 steps. She normally walks 2+ miles every day -- at her age, isn't that enough? She's convinced that anything under 10,000 is failure. Are their any age based guidelines? My 25 yr old son regularly clocks 20,000+ -- good for him but not for me or my mom. Any thoughts?

Best Answer
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions
That's great she is so active. I am not a medical professional, but it am guessing most of the guidelines you will find are going to be minimums - 150 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic activity (e.g., brisk walking) a week, plus muscle-strengthening activities on at least two days of the week.

View best answer in original post

Best Answer
4 REPLIES 4
That's great she is so active. I am not a medical professional, but it am guessing most of the guidelines you will find are going to be minimums - 150 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic activity (e.g., brisk walking) a week, plus muscle-strengthening activities on at least two days of the week.

Best Answer

@LaurieW wrote:

I gave my 82 yr old mom -- who has always been a super active walker, swimmer, etc. -- a fitbit and now she is obsessed with reaching 10,000 steps. She normally walks 2+ miles every day -- at her age, isn't that enough? She's convinced that anything under 10,000 is failure. Are their any age based guidelines? My 25 yr old son regularly clocks 20,000+ -- good for him but not for me or my mom. Any thoughts?

@LaurieW Read this link which Fitbit is based on. Also the book "Younger next Year" which suggests similar to @Jrdubyakc suggestion.

I'm only 7 years from mom next month and find I need at least a 45 min walk at about 70% of my maxHR.