Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice needed

ANSWERED

Hi all,I am a newbie to this , i am recovering from a stroke, which i had in the summe 2016, in october 2016 my daughters bought me the fitbit charge, i am really pleased with it, i have managed to improve my steps to 8,000 from zilch, cant get past this figure at the mo because i get tired, what i would like to know is, i am exercising twice a day and am reaching 8,000 steps a day since october, does anybody think that this is doing me anygood, because i'm not reaching 10.000, will it  still be doing my heart any good. i was not excerising at all before my stroke i have stopped binge drinking so i dont drink alcohol at all, so i think i should be doing myself a favour what do you guys think.

my very best regards Pete.        

Best Answer
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@pipercub, assuming your doctors have greenlighted your exercise (a pretty good assumption at this point), then 10,000 steps per day is something which you can acheive; that said, it sounds like you may have to work at it.  The good news is the human body is a master at adaptation, you keep pushing your limits/boundaries and it will adapt, no question about it.

The trick to pushing your limits safely are to do so very gradually; at this point (based upon your post) you've only been exercising for a maximum of ten weeks and while you seem a bit frustrated at your progress, trust me, your body is doing its part.  The thing about adaptation is it does take time, the cardio/pulmonary and muscular systems develop relatively rapidly, however, the connective tissue (ligaments and tendons), joints, and skeletal systems take a long time, especially if you're a bit older; pushing your body too fast is a sure means of getting injured.