Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calling all weight lifters

I'm a student that's fairly new to the whole "gym" thing but thanks to my Fitbit i've been consistently going for 4 months now and it's making me feel so much better.

However, I'm a fairly skinny and weak female, who's now fed up with cardio and really wanting to put on some muscle and get some curves. I've been doing some ab stuff in the privacy of my own flat and have been going to a LBT class once a week recently but what I really want to do is go into the weights area... That would be fairly straight forward if I weren't so self conscious/intimidated by the idea of it and doing thing's wrong in front of people.

I was wondering, how did you get into lifting weights and where did you get your knowledge from?

Best Answer
0 Votes
15 REPLIES 15

Lifting weights correctly is crucial to building muscle AND preventing injury.  Is there a trainer at the gym you could hire for a couple sessions so you can learn the exercises and the proper form?

Best Answer
0 Votes

@fiona3932: check discussions such as this one that mention The New Rules of Lifting for Women and Strong Curves. These are two often mentioned and praised books specifically aimed at would-be women lifters that would be a good starting point.

I agree with @SunsetRunner it would be a good idea to hire a competent trainer to learn how to perform the main lifts with good form. You can pretty much start with a very limited number of major lifts like squats, deadlifts, benchpress and overhead press. Make sure you follow a program with built-in progression and keep a log of what you are doing.

Maybe a friend of yours is already lifting and could accompany you in the beginning, if you find the weight area intimidating?

Dominique | Finland

Ionic, Aria, Flyer, TrendWeight | Windows 7, OS X 10.13.5 | Motorola Moto G6 (Android 9), iPad Air (iOS 12.4.4)