Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Desk Job - Increase your step count

ANSWERED

Hey Everyone

I am an Accounting Manager and spent all my day at my desk writing emails, reports, and calls.  I have started going to the gym every night for at least an hour (sometimes two if i do an hour of pilates after). 

I try to hit 10k steps but that includes my hour workout....how can i increase my steps to 20k......

Any tips would be helpful

Best Answer
0 Votes
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

I work in accounting as well and this is a very sedentary job!  Here is what I do to get over 10K steps (my goal is actually 8K because a lot of my steps rely on walking outside, so on rainy days, it's hard to get steps).  I live in South Florida, so our weather can be very hot, humid, with showers and storms in the spring/summer.

- Go to the gym in the morning before work.  If it's a cardio day, I can get 4-5K+ steps, if it's a strength training day, I get around 2500-3000 steps.

- Print everything to the farthest printer from my desk.

- Make multiple trips -- if I need water and need to use the bathroom, I'll go to the bathroom first, then back to my desk to grab my water bottle, then walk to the kitchen to refill the water bottle, then back to my desk.  

- I volunteer to take out the garbage, clean the kitchen, and do any errands for anyone in the office that require walking!

- Every hour and a half, I leave my desk and walk outside for 7-10 minutes.  I walk up the stairs of the parking garage so I can hit at least 10 floors every day.  Sometimes I can't walk that much (raining or too much work), but I do try to get those walking breaks in.