Cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does being sick cause a big increase in heart rate? 🤢🤢🤢

Hi all 😷🤢

Currently dying of some kind of flu/cold virus. Suffering from a temperature and feeling very tired. Sure you all know what I mean- runny nose, chest cough, no appetite and feeling weak ect.

Basically just wondered- my heart rate has jumped up lots. Sat/laying down its between 95-102. When well its usually 80s.

Stood up walking - even just to and from the bathroom ect goes upto 120-135. When well its usually 95-105

Is this normal when we're sick? Just don't know if I should be concerned. Not breathless, no chest pains. Just feel majorly hot from the temperature  (I'm measuring in at 38.5)

Thanks 😷😷😷😁😁😁🤢

Best Answer
0 Votes
27 REPLIES 27

Bumping the thread. Anyone offer advice?

Best Answer
0 Votes

I'm not a doctor but it makes sense that your body would elevate your heart rate  as your immune system fights off a virus.

Just like it does when you digest food or try to stay warm in the cold etc etc etc.

Best Answer

According to WebMD viral infections can raise your blood pressure and heart rate. I guess what all the moms and the grandmom's said is true - when you're sick, rest and fluids. Hope you feel better soon!

Best Answer

I’m finally over a bout of a cold and feeling crappy.  And, yes, my Heart rate was higher then normal.  Now that I’m feeling better it’s returned to normal readings. 

Remeber to stay hydrated. 

Best Answer

Yes.  I'm currently sick and my RHR jumped from 57 to 61 overnight when I got hit and then jumped up further to 64.  It's never that high.  

Heather | Community Council | Eastern Shore, AL
Want to discuss ways to increase your activity? Visit Get Moving in the Lifestyle Discussion Forum.
Best Answer